Love notes from Freya, 6/26/14

Cats. Take care of your cats. (gestures to the horde of felines circling about her feet) Love, Freya

Yes, ma’am. Duly noted. (Maybe I should ask for some help in finding catsitters for next week.)

This “cats” order reminds me of my first time I consciously reached out to Freya. I had just found out about Asatru and starting hanging out with my first kindred. At the time, I was also in grad school and feeling lonely. (One of the many reasons I had gone to grad school was to find a guy, and I was sorely disappointed that my chosen field was filled with women, gay men, and taken hetero guys.) When I asked the gothi about it, he suggested this spell: take a piece of paper and write down exactly what I am looking for. Put it into a small container with a cat on it; ask Freya to bless it and bring me the love that I need; and put it in the window to send it out. So I did. I asked Freya for someone who liked to snuggle, was laid back, and was independent and didn’t require a lot of my attention (in grad school, who has the time?)

Two hours later, I was surprised to hear my gray tabby, Harbarth (“Greybeard”) start up a conversation with someone through my window. I looked out, and the sweetest brown tabby cat with a white belly was sitting outside, mrowing at my gray cat. I went out on the porch and looked around to see if someone had dropped him off, or at least knew where he came from. The street was deserted. He had no tag, so I brought him in, and almost immediately he sat down next to me and started purring. It was love at first sight.

It wasn’t until a few months had passed that I realized he did, in fact, meet the standards I had asked for. I had said nothing about which species I wanted. And as I watched several of my peers struggle with ever-increasing boyfriend drama throughout grad school, I was secretly grateful I had been given a cat instead.

From this experience, I learned several things:

  1. Magic works. (Or perhaps the Gods are just a lot more helpful than I had thought.)
  2. This Freya deity seems pretty responsive and powerful. Maybe I should be serious about starting build a relationship with her
  3. The Gods are going to send you what you need rather than what you think you want. So, to a certain extent, it doesn’t matter how specific you are. Being specific only sets up expectations and you can miss the gift when the Gods decide to send it to you.
  4. However, if you’re determined to do a spell, rather than ask the Gods for help, you need to know exactly what you want, and be specific when asking for it.
  5. I will always need to have a lovebug cat in my life. And to this day, I always have.

My current catnips: Ra and Anubis. (You can guess which is which.) Ra is my adventurous wanderer, and Anubis is my snuggle/purr cat.

Nubie on Draim                cats snuggling on chair

Ra and Cernunos

3 thoughts on “Love notes from Freya, 6/26/14

Leave a Reply

