Love notes from Freya, 7/4/14

What is it that you want? What is it that you really want? Not what you think you want; not what you think you should want; not what others expect you to want; not what your family or society tells you to want–what do you want? Once you find out, let me know. Then we can begin. Love, Freya

Easier said than done, I know. My answer has always been explained best by Into the Woods, my favorite Sondheim musical:

Cinderella: But how do you know what you want til you get what you want and then see if you like it?

Baker’s Wife: Would I know? I never wish…just within reason.

Cinderella: All I know is–What I want most of all–is to know what I want.

Baker’s Wife: When you know you can’t have what you want, where’s the profit in wishing?

 

Happy 4th, all!

One thought on “Love notes from Freya, 7/4/14

Leave a Reply

