Pablo Neruda, and a gold ship

Just got back from a lovely event for Aphrodite that involved painting things gold and reading love poetry. (I couldn’t have planned a better event for Freya, actually; I think I may just co-opt this event whole hog and use it in my Vanic group. We’ll see how it goes.) It was a great evening event, with the gilding and chatting happening first and their usual ritual format, with the love poetry added, taking place afterwards.

I brought along a small viking ship to be gilded. I had previously owned a Swarofski gold ship of similar dimensions, but that was lost in the divorce. This one looks even cooler and is quite a bit cheaper. It’s amazing what a coat of gold paint will do (the original looks like this, minus the rigging). The ship is for my Freyr altar, which admittedly does not get nearly enough love. It’s my version of  Skíðblaðnir. It doesn’t need to be gold, true, but as with any of the Vanir–gold is the way to go.

 gold ship 2    gold ship 1

The poem I contributed was one of my favorites, by Pablo Neruda. Not only does he invent the term sleeping amber, which won my heart instantly, but his poems also have that element of magical realism that I love so much.

Sonnet LXXXI

Already, you are mine. Rest with your dream inside my dream.

Love, grief, labour, all must sleep now.

Night revolves on invisible wheels

and joined to me you are pure as sleeping amber.

No one else will sleep with my dream, love.

You will go, we will go joined by the waters of time.

No other one will travel the shadows with me,

only you, eternal nature, eternal sun, eternal moon.

Already your hands have opened their delicate fists

and let fall, without direction, their gentle signs,

your eyes enclosing themselves like two grey wings,

while I follow the waters you bring that take me onwards:

night, Earth, winds weave their fate, and already,

not only am I not without you, I alone am your dream.

Leave a Reply

