“If I Were to Die in Battle”, by Muninns Kiss

It’s been a while since I added some new poetry, so I’ll probably add a couple today 🙂

 

If I Were to Die in Battle

 

If I were to die in battle,

Who would invite me home?

Would it be Odin or would it be Freyja,

Whose hall I’d be taken to?

 

Would Odin want me,

Would I make the cut?

Am I the type he’d want,

To be fighting by his side?

 

Would Freyja have me,

Would I feast in her halls?

Would she find me worthy,

To lend her my sword?

 

The two they stand together,

Ready to make the choice,

Him with his initiator,

Her initiator with her.

 

As the Valkyries fly me closer,

I can’t help but think,

Is it them that make the decision,

Or was it always my choice.

Muninns Kiss, 2012

Leave a Reply

