Demonic flashdrives.

So in the process of looking up my journal entries regarding my fylgia for the article I revised, I found that 90% of the contents of the folders on my desktop–my main filing system, mind you–had been deleted. (All of the folders, perplexingly, had not disappeared.) I had originally though this was limited to just my pagan writings (in which case i was about to be both very impressed by and seriously pissed off at some deity or spirit), but then I realized that financial records, photos, and recipes were also missing. ALMOST EVERYTHING WAS GONE. It was seriously creepy.

I was able to recover the journeys from my Freya initiation (thank Gods!) because they were in my email from back when I was requesting feedback from my peers/teacher types on them. I was able to recover at least the basics of my Dedication contract because I have it posted on the blog. (Though thinking back on it again, I should have the full version of the contract in my email someplace as well.) The rest? Who knows.

The 10% of the articles that I was able to recover all turned out to be from this random folder called “Kingston misc”. Which is when I started suspecting that my old, barely working Kingston flashdrive might be the file thief. I vaguely remember trying to use it to transfer files between work and home laptops the week that I started moving. In the process I accidentally copied my entire desktop, which I then had to delete from the flashdrive–and then, in a rush, yanked it out of the laptop without ejecting it first, which is a big Mac no-no. Which somehow emptied all of the my desktop folders of their contents but not the folders themselves, making it appear as if everything was still OK.(Well played, demonic flash drive.) And I’m pretty sure I then tossed that flash drive, believing that everything on it was already saved on my laptop anyway. Damn you, Mercury retrograde shenanigans. Damn you all to the hell that I don’t believe in.

And here I am in the last week of couch surfing with all but a small portion of my belongings already shipped to my next home, so I have no way of knowing if I actually did throw that drive away, or if I have these docs on another harddrive, or if some of them are old enough to be either on my old laptop or on an older computer back-up. And all hard copies of many files got recycled when I moved because they were bulky and they were on the laptop anyway.

#&@#%&!@!!! Seriously, how does this crap even happen? No one could make this stuff up.

And thanks, universe–I realize I’m going through a metamorphosis and transforming and shedding a bunch of the old, etc., but COME ON, ALREADY. This is just ludicrous. Uncle.

Gods, I’m glad this Mercury retrograde is over. Gin? Wine? GF cupcakes? MIdas’ Touch beer? Massage? Movies? Snuggling? Over here, please.

2 thoughts on “Demonic flashdrives.

  1. I had my thesis crash on me once, that was pretty awful. I really need to start taking better care of preserving my files, myself.

    Go for the wine!

  2. Greetings. Sorry to hear about the techno-issues, did you try using an ‘undelete’ software? I recently used one (a free one) to delete a bunch of files that I deleted on a whim (cause I was in one of those..’gaaaaah’ moods). I was able to retrieve mostly everything I wanted to although there were a few things I didn’t expect to see on my flashdrive that I wish I could’ve restored but they were just too old to restore. Anyway, just thought I’d make this suggestion. Blessings.

Leave a Reply

