All shall be well.

One of my favorite quotes of all time is from Julian of Norwich, a 14th century Christian mystic. Like many mystics from many different religious traditions, her message focused on the joy and compassion one could receive from her God. (I find that mystics of different religions often have more in common with each other than with the less “mystical” members of their own religion. YMMV.) The quote is,

All shall be well, and all shall be well, and all manner of things shall be well.

I lean into this quote when I’m anxious or stressed, for often the amount of stress and anxiety I’m experiencing is out of proportion with what is actually going on. I grew up surrounded by people who would either overreact or react inconsistently to events, so my default mode was to expect that no matter what had actually happened, it would be treated as if it were a crisis. So one thing that my Lady has been teaching me over the years is that yes, things will be okay, particularly if I lean on Her guidance during the tough times. Unfortunately, the times when I need Her support the most are usually the times that I block her out the hardest. Little things like this quote from Julian have helped me slowly trace my way back to Freya, where I can open my heart to Her once again and be healed.

To me, this quote is saying that everything will be okay. Life will work out. It may not work out in the manner I had hoped for, but I have power even over challenging circumstances if I can accept what is, let go of expectations, and change my viewpoint on it. It’s a simple concept but hard to put into practice. But nothing worth having is ever easy, is it?

One thought on “All shall be well.

Leave a Reply

