10 thoughts on “Mercury (the God)

  1. I have visited both Florence and Rome, and sought out the Roman gods there. Meeting Mercury was weird. He seemed like he could be an aspect of Hermes, but lacked the approachable rustic twang to his speech… he clearly did not know me, but mentioned my Grandmother, who was born in Italy.

  2. That’s the impression that I got from Zeus–that the Greeks and the Romans were just two different set of entities. I don’t have many Romans on my list, though, so I thought I’d put it out there.

  3. Mercury devotee here! And I’ve always seen Him as a Romanized Hermes: that’s what the historical information suggests and my (conscious?) relationship with Him started after a joke about Hermes. From that moment on, it’s been a stream of hints, taps on the shoulder and winks, so to speak.

    • Neat! I’d love to hear more about what he’s like and what it’s like to work for him. I like Hermes, and interact with him sometimes (hard to avoid when you’re around Hermes devotees), but every time I think about him, he comes up as “Mercury”, not Hermes.

      • When I see two gods as the same, I tend to look at it as akin to a cosmopolitan person being nicknamed differently in different countries and adapting to local culture. So in Japan people call you X and you respond in Japanese fashion – bow, language, sushi meal, tea ceremony and all – but in Europe your friends gave you a different nickname and you mingle accordingly.

        Historically, everytime a deity is imported, He/She is adapted to the needs and view of the host culture. Look at Apollo: He’s the same in Greece and Rome (they didn’t even rename Him), but His functions are not the same in both places.

        If Hermes comes to you as Mercury and you’re not a Roman polytheist, my three initial guesses would be the following: He wants you to (re)connect with something Italian (culture or ancestors), He wants you to take a more urban and cosmopolitan view of Him (even if not exclusively so), or it has something to do with a business opportunity or venture, since Mercury comes from Latin “merx” (merchandise).

        But these are just my guesses.

  4. Hi! Ave Mercurius! I’ve known him for about 7 years now and I view him somewhat independently of Hermes. They share mythos from what I gather but there is also a lot about them that is quite different. I discuss select aspects of my relationship with Mercury on my blog at http://wanderingwomanwondering.wordpress.com. I have a page on him there, and a few articles easily accessible via the tag cloud or a general search if you are interested. Ave Mercurius!

Leave a Reply

