Pagans and Depression

Terrence Ward wrote up a nice long piece for The Wild Hunt this month about how pagans handle depression. He quotes a variety of people in his article, including me. I always get mixed feelings about talking about my challenges with depression publicly, but I think he’s handled the subject well. Other people quoted in the article are Shauna Aura Knight, Selena Fox, Tony Rella, and Jolene Poseidonae. Ward’s decision to organize the content in the article by Element seemed a bit of a stretch at first, but ultimately I think it’s useful in attacking depression for what it is: a multi-layered disease that affects people on all levels–physical, emotional, mental, creative, and spiritual. And thus a successful program to combat it must needs meet it on the front line in each of those areas.

(I’m only just now realizing how much I see it as an Enemy to be attacked. How martial of me! And odd, because one of the most effective strategies I’ve found is to let it come and then let it pass; but often what happens when people try to “fight it”, they are actually belittling and fighting themselves for having it–a no-win situation, that. But as someone who’s dealt with it since my teenage years, do I have a lot of experience fighting It–and slowly I’ve learned to protect myself from getting hit with too much collateral damage in the meantime.)

2 thoughts on “Pagans and Depression

Leave a Reply

