DPM 14: All The Way Down

Great, in-depth article breaking all of these concepts down. I agree (and have tried to live my life) by the axiom that unless something hits my heart, or soul–anything besides my mind alone–is a Mystery. It’s a “Truth” that I have discovered through my own lived experience. I did my time in academia and conciously decided after I finished my Master’s degree that I wanted to experience the world rather than just read about it. At this point, pretty much anything that I haven’t experienced as Truth is really just a working theory.

EmberVoices: Listening for the Vanir

I am going through the Devotional Polytheist Meme questions from Galina Krasskova’s blog, together with my lover Lon Sarver, over the course of several months.

We encourage our friends to follow along, and welcome links to other people’s answers, as well as your thoughts on our answers, in our comments.

14. What role does mystery play in your tradition?

Well, first of all, what IS Mystery?

A lot of people equate Mystery with Secrecy, but I think it’s important to distinguish between them. Both are often oath bound, in order to either keep some kind of control, or to avoid spoilers for initiates who will have a stronger experience if they face the unknown than if they face the sort-of-known.

I tend to say that a Mystery is that which can only be understood – truly known – via direct experience. Lon says the difference between a Secret and a…

View original post 1,158 more words

Leave a Reply

