I was the match and you were the rock/maybe we started this fire…

[Edited to add: “These are the things…the things we lost in the fire…” Like, say, my only representation of Freyr, which literally went up in flames a few weeks ago? Subtle, Freyr! Well played. (Or, at least, engagingly sung.) Thank you for the reminder. Feel free to send me a pretty musician boy with a message any time you need my attention.]

So I was out driving today, doing errands, and skimming through the local radio stations trying to find one that didn’t completely irritate me. (A high bar; I hate the radio.) And I heard a song going out and coming back home. All I could remember was this fascinating English accent that I couldn’t place, on a guy that sounded like he was singing while giving a lapdance.

Several hours later, the song turned out to be “Pompeii”; the band, Bastille; and I found yet another pale-skinned dramatic Brit with intense cheekbones to crush on. Who, I might add, is inspired by ancient history (literally), writes in four-part harmony, and uses a lot of interesting percussion in his songs (which apparently is primarily due to his drummer, but still). /smitten He also reminds me a lot of what I think Robert Smith and Morrisey would have been like, had I listened to them back in high school. (Though it seems odd to me now considering how many pale, moody musician types I fall for, I was #notagoth).

In any event, this is why I don’t listen to the radio. I fall in love too easily and I waste hours on You Tube trying to get it out of my system. (It definitely beats all of the hours of work overtime I’ve been logging on this computer, though…) Here is my current fave song, which I feel should be a tribute to Gullveig. Enjoy!

Lyrics:

“Things We Lost In The Fire”

Things we lost to the flames
Things we’ll never see again
All that we’ve amassed
Sits before us, shattered into ashThese are the things, the things we lost
The things we lost in the fire fire fire
These are the things, the things we lost
The things we lost in the fire fire fireWe sat and made a list
Of all the things that we had
Down the backs of table tops
Ticket stubs and your diariesI read them all one day
When loneliness came and you were away
Oh they told me nothing new,
But I love to read the words you used

These are the things, the things we lost
The things we lost in the fire fire fire
These are the things, the things we lost
The things we lost in the fire fire fire

I was the match and you were the rock
Maybe we started this fire
We sat apart and watched
All we had burned on the pyre

(You said) we were born with nothing
And we sure as hell have nothing now
(You said) we were born with nothing
And we sure as hell have nothing now

These are the things, the things we lost
The things we lost in the fire fire fire
These are the things, the things we lost
The things we lost in the fire fire fire

Do you understand that we will never be the same again?
Do you understand that we will never be the same again?
The future’s in our hands and we will never be the same again
The future’s in our hands and we will never be the same again

These are the things, the things we lost
The things we lost in the fire fire fire
These are the things, the things we lost
The things we lost in the fire fire fire

These are the things, the things we lost
These are the things we lost in the fire fire fire

Flames – they licked the walls
Tenderly they turned to dust all that I adore

6 thoughts on “I was the match and you were the rock/maybe we started this fire…

  1. Reminds me of a quite a few, er, 80’s songs. And yea, I can see it being a Gullveig song (that and a Lokean love song of sorts). Blessings.

Leave a Reply

