Sometimes the Gods are Sick of Speaking Sweetly

Tired of Speaking Sweetly

Love wants to reach out and manhandle us,
Break all our teacup talk of God.

If you had the courage and
Could give the Beloved His choice, some nights,
He would just drag you around the room
By your hair,
Ripping from your grip all those toys in the world
That bring you no joy.

Love sometimes gets tired of speaking sweetly
And wants to rip to shreds
All your erroneous notions of truth

That make you fight within yourself, dear one,
And with others,

Causing the world to weep
On too many fine days.

God wants to manhandle us,
Lock us inside of a tiny room with Himself
And practice His dropkick.

The Beloved sometimes wants
To do us a great favor:

Hold us upside down
And shake all the nonsense out.

But when we hear
He is in such a “playful drunken mood”
Most everyone I know
Quickly packs their bags and hightails it
Out of town.

–Hafiz, Sufi poet (translation by Daniel Ladinsky)

I feel sometimes like I am a pickaxe of the Gods. I have been out and about and doing the Gods’ work (either consciously or unconsciously) long enough to know that I have two main uses to which They like to put me. Two main patterns have emerged, regardless of group or situation or locale. If I come cannonballing into your life–sailing with seemingly no effort over barriers you’ve long held , slipping into places no one has been to in decades–know that it can go one of two ways. Either I am a gift of supreme love, or I am a wrecking ball. And, a lot of the times, I don’t know which one it is until after the Rubicon has been crossed.

If I am a gift of love, you will receive from me complete acceptance. Understanding. Support. Lack of any criticism or judgement. I hold space for you as you cry, but I never tell you where to go or what to do next. I act as the voice of a God, and as His or Her witness. I verify that you are indeed human; are accepted and loved; have a valid voice, message, and place in this world; and, above all, are not crazy.

If I am a wrecking ball–honestly, I do the same thing. I just do it with a reeeally big flashlight at my side and with a lot less patience. (Lokeans, I know you feel me here.) This approach is sometimes needful and necessary. It is the fire the kills the undergrowth but leaves the strongest trees still standing, and makes the now-cleared earth ripe for new growth. And it sucks, and is painful for all concerned, and is not necessarily beneficial in the long run.

But I do it, because sometimes, the Gods are sick of speaking sweetly.

8 thoughts on “Sometimes the Gods are Sick of Speaking Sweetly

  1. Gotta love the Sufis, they were/are definitely tuned in. On a related note, I think I read this poem by Hafiz in a book titled ‘Love Poems from God’ that contains mystic, love poetry from 12 devotees of, both, eastern and western traditions (e.g. Hafiz and St. Teresa of Avila). Blessings.

  2. Hm. I’ve done stuff like that through active listening and peer support. I’m not always a wrecking ball, maybe I offer more of a flashlight or lightbulb moment but that can feel similar to a wrecking ball if the thing revealed is intense.
    Hmmm.

  3. I’ve been called a change agent. I see the problem/injustice/corruption and I get angry. I speak out about it, and I get punished. Because I did though, and people know that I’m a person of integrity, the problem gets looked into. Eventually it gets fixed. Everyone’s happy except me, because I don’t get the benefit of the better for the most part.

    I’m trying to be philosophical about this. I’ve often told my husband I must have been quite the SOB in a previous life because of the amount of crap that rolls my way now. He just nods his head and looks thoughtful.

    In my latest episode of being a change agent I’m still waiting for the wheel of fortune to come to rest.

    • Ouch that sounds whiney! That’s not the way I mean it! But it does seem to me that an outside force takes over and begins speaking through me in these cases. I’m aware of what’s going on, but it’s an impulse that seemingly comes out of nowhere, if that makes sense. Either it’s my reptilian brain acting or it’s the Gods 🙂

      I certainly have always had a finely tuned sense of justice (and injustice).

      • No worries 🙂 I know how that goes. Usually when that happens with me it’s a uncomfortable truth being spoken that deeply affects whoever hears it. And yeah, it feels like Not Me; like I’m just a mouthpiece for Someone or Something else.

        Even in my wrecking ball mode, however, most of what I do is just show up and listen, and act as a mirror, almost. It never ceases to amaze me how powerful that can be.

        Both situations tend to be uncomfortable, though, and it often takes a huge amount of work and energy to be able to do either without me or my reputation suffering a direct attack during the fallout.

  4. Do not try to have me in your life if you say that you want love; but you’re knowin or unknowingly not ready for it.
    All I bring is love.
    It’s not a trifle.

Leave a Reply

