4 thoughts on “Patheos: The Positives and Negatives of Dedicating to a Deity

  1. Hi Cara

    Hope its ok to post here, I was a little reluctant to get a login for Patheos in order to post this comment. I wanted to say I’ve really enjoyed your warm and personable writings about your evolving practices its inspired me a lot in my own. I was a little apprehensive about this question as I’m a solitary Heathen who has been slowly growing into my spiritual practices over some time, I still feel like the new kid in a lot of ways. I will try keep this short as Im sure you have much to do, but I couldn’t think of anyone else to ask about a phenomenon I’ve been experiencing lately with the Gods.

    I’ve been quite fastidious in prematurely professing devotion or allegiance to any of the Gods/Goddesses and have generally not made offerings to anyone in particular unless the season or the situation called for it. I would often finish prayers with a general one of ‘hey if you would like to stop by and say hi it would be nice to get too know you.’ to the Gods as a whole and indeed occasionally while casting runes or in other conducive settings one of the Gods or Goddesses will make their presence known. I’ve been quite satisfied with this and always figured that if any of them wanted me to pay attention to them they would let me know.

    But in the last couple of months it seems that two are paying special attention to me and not in the ‘oh I’m special bask in my snow-flakeyness!’. Both Odin and Freya have been intent on nudging me this way or that almost like they both want to see which way I want to jump, and on a couple of occasions its been a little scary. To be fair Freya hasn’t been all that scary, but I guess my question is does this kind of thing happen? Do the Gods/desses nudge heathens to see what they will do and who they will turn to?

    I look forward to your reply, and hope it was ok posting this longwinded question here.
    Cheers
    Ben

    • Thanks 🙂 Always good to hear that my articles are useful.

      While I think it’s always a good idea not to pledge yourself to a deity too quickly, if you end your blots and such with “Hey, show up if you want to”, eventually somebody is going to take you up on that.

      Do the Gods nudge us for time to time? YES. Sometimes just small nudges, or sometimes it’s like a battering ram. Odin and Freya are the unofficial Heathen Welcoming team, and neither are very subtle. When either of them start showing up, it’s just a matter of time before challenges and changes of *some* start happening.

      I guess the question is whether they are nudging you to go places that you don’t want to go, or just places that you’re afraid to go. Freya will do what she can to help you accept and love yourself and honor any desires that are not yet fulfilled. Odin–well, I’m not as fluent in Odin-ish as I am in Freya-isms, but from what I’ve seen, He will turn your paradigms upside down and make you look at the world in a totally different way, and help rid yourself of those things that are blocking you. (He’s not always as nice about it as Freya is.)

      Either way, it sounds like they’re testing you to see what you’re all about. It’s not necessarily a bad thing. If nothing else, it means They find you interesting enough to concern themselves with. 🙂

  2. Hi Cara

    Thanks for the reply, after seeing in print what I was doing with my invitations to the Gods I clicked and though ‘uh well duh. of course thats going to happen.’ I guess it was a little bit of a shock in some ways getting such an emphatic response, its nice to have my paradigm of distant deities be removed, even if it was a little sudden. Especially with one message from the Allfather being as you say ‘like a battering ram’.

    You pose a valid question and thus far its indeed been more of a case of me hesitating over things than it being anything I would refuse to do. I guess we will see which way things develop, and you’re right in one sense its very cool that they actually think I’m worth paying attention too. Guess its a lesson in be careful what you wish for haha.

    Anyway this has convinced me to venture out of my little bubble and commune with other heathens more, even if its only online till I finish my Post-Grad research. Thanks again Cara and please keep writing 🙂

Leave a Reply

